What is an elder tree?

Elderberry, also called elder, is a genus of about 10 species of shrubs and small trees in the family Adoxaceae. They are important as garden shrubs, as forest plants, and for their berries, which provide food for wildlife and are used for wines, jellies, pies, and medicines.