Which was written first the iliad or the odyssey?

The events in the Iliad took place before the events in the Odyssey. Odysseus appears as a character in the Iliad. The Odyssey is a story that details Odysseus' attempt to return to his home in Ithaca. The Odyssey is, therefore, believed to be a sequel to the Iliad.