What is new jersey called?

The state of New Jersey is called The Garden State. In 1954 the state legislature voted in favor of putting the nickname on license plates, but Governor Robert Meyner refused 2 sign the bill. He investigated the slogan & found no official recognition of the slogan. The legislature overrode his veto.