How deep is a twain?

"Twain" means "two" of something: Mark Twain took his pen name from the call of the leadsman (the person who threw the weighted line into the water to see how deep it was) of "mark twain", which means the water was 2 fathoms (or about 12 feet deep and thus safe to navigate)