What is purple garlic mean?

Purple garlic (hard heads) is grown like a bulb, planted in the fall, and harvested and dried in the summer, and harder to find in stores. White garlic (soft heads) is sold year round in grocery stores. Some people prefer the taste of the purple garlic.