What is n. c. seventeen in movie ratings?

A movie rating of NC-17 means that persons under the age of 18 are not allowed to view it -- that is, "No Children aged 17 or under."

---

An NC-17 rating means that no child under 17 will be admitted into the theater even with an adult. It usually is given this reading because there is very inappropriate material in the movie for any person under the age of 17.