What year was jim croce popular?

“Don’t Mess Around With Jim” and “Time In A Bottle” were number one hits after September 1973, which was after he died along with five others in plane crash. “Bad, Bad Leroy Brown” was number one on Billboard’s Top 100 in July 1973.