How much sugar is in one medium size banana?

At peak ripeness, a medium-sized Cavendish (standard yellow) banana contains 27 grams of carbohydrates, of which about 14 grams are sugar and 13 grams are starches and fiber. How ripe the banana is will affect this ratio: green bananas contain less sugar, while overripe bananas contain more sugar.