When was the disco ball invented?

One of the earliest accounts of disco ball used in a ballroom points out to the year 1897, in the city of Boston. However, the first patent for a product that was to be an early version of the modern disco ball was issued in 1917 by Louis Bernard Woeste. They became a fad throughout the 1920's.

---

There are accounts that point out to the use of disco balls in Boston in 1897. The first patent for a product that was to be an early version of the modern disco ball, was issued in 1917 by Louis Bernard Woeste.