Why do eyes have color?

In mammals, brown eye color is determined by melanin pigments. The appearance of blue, green, and hazel eyes results from the Tyndall scattering of light in the stroma of the eye. These pale colors indicate a greatly reduced melanin content in the eyes. This trait evolved in northern lattitudes.