How long do cats nurse for?

Kittens begin nursing only 1-2 hours after they're born. During this time, their eyes are still closed, but they're able to find the mother cat through her warmth. Within the first month after birth, a mother will start to wean her kittens off her milk, continuing the process for the next few weeks