Where did the term geronimo come from?

In colloquial language, Geronimo is used as an exclamation of exhilaration. It's origins are not confirmed but common belief is that it either came from the movie about Native American Chief Geronimo or a song of the same name. Both origins tie back to paratroopers exclaiming this before jumping.