How long should you let coffee steep?

About four minutes. When using a french press, stir in about one third of your water to let the coffee grounds "bloom" for about 30 seconds; then add the remaining water, cover it, and let it steep. The total brew time should be about four minutes. Press the plunger to the bottom and pour.