What is a unit rate?

When rates are expressed as a quantity of 1, such as 2 feet per second or 5 miles per hour, they are called unit rates. If you have a multiple-unit rate such as 120 students for every 3 buses & want to find the single-unit rate,write a ratio equal to the multiple-unit rate with 1 as the second term