Why are the twin towers called ground zero?

New Yorkers started calling the World Trade Center site Ground Zero shortly after suicide hijackers destroyed the Twin Towers. In a 1946 New York Times report on the destroyed city of Hiroshima, it defined ground zero as "that part of the ground situated immediately under an exploding bomb..."