What is a ridge runner?

"Ridgerunner" is a nickname for people from the higher parts of mountainous areas in the Southeastern United States, especially the Appalachians. A ridgerunner is a boots-on-the-ground educator who helps the public to enjoy the A.T. safely and responsibly and preserve it for future generations.