What does it mean when your fortune cookie is empty?

If there is no fortune in a fortune cookie, it is a sign that something good will happen to you soon. (Because fortune-cookie-fairy owes you one fortune). Or it could just mean that the manufacturer of the cookies let an oops slip in the cookie bag.