What is the purpose of an ekg?

Electrocardiogram (EKG) measures a person hearts contraction characteristics and it's nerve signals like to the n node on the heart. Heart does not actually have real electricity but a ionic electrolyte concentration differential signal from entra to extra cellular. EKG electrodes read those signal