What's a mustang horse?

The mustang is a free-roaming horse of the Western United States, descended from horses brought to the Americas by the Spanish. Mustangs are often referred to as wild horses, but because they are descended from once-domesticated horses, they are actually feral horses.

---

A mustang is a free-roaming horse of the Western United States, descended from horses brought to the Americas by the Spanish. The name came from mustengo, which means "ownerless beast" or "stray horse” in Spanish.