What's a simile and a metaphor?

Similes and metaphors both compare one thing to something else. Similes use "as" or "like" in the comparison. For example a simile would be "this drink is as refreshing as a cool breeze" or "this drink is like a cool breeze." Metaphor form would say "this drink is a cool breeze."