How do you work a phone?

It depends: traditional land-line cordless - pickup receiver, press appropriate button to connect/disconnect; wired land-line, pickup phone to answer, hangupto end; cellphone - press or swipe green to answer, press or swipe rped to end - depending on manufacture/operating systrm