What are double a. batteries?

The double A battery, also called a Mignon battery, is a standard size single cell cylindrical dry battery. The IEC 60086 system calls it size R6, and ANSIC18 calls it size 15. Historically, it is known as D14 or HP7 in official documentation in the United Kingdom.