How do you mince ginger root?

Peel the root, which is most easily done with the edge of a spoon, Then slice along the length, cut into thin sticks, and finally chop into fine bits. You can continue to chop using a knife to mince more finely until you have the right consistency. After peeling you can also use a food processor.