How high can a bird?

during migration there is good reason for birds to gain altitude, and many species fly at 2,000 to 5,000 feet, where they can use the prevailing winds to assist them on their way. On a long-distance flight, a bird may begin travel at about 5,000 feet and then slowly climb to 20,000 feet.