Why do they call them donuts?

The earliest known recorded usage of the term dates to an 1808 short story describing a spread of "fire-cakes and dough-nuts". Irving described "balls of sweetened dough, fried in hog's fat, and called doughnuts, or olykoeks." These "nuts" of fried dough might now be called doughnut holes