What is global thermal nuclear war?

Global Thermo Nuclear war is widespread use of Nuclear weapons for war. The fear of this was most prevalent during the “Cold War” stand off between the USA and USSR. Nuclear weapons have unprecedented destructive power in the history of warfare due to harnessing the power of the atom.