Who played hawkeye in mash?

Donald Sutherland played Benjamin Franklin "Hawkeye" Pierce in the MASH movie. Alan Alda played Hawkeye for the television series. Alda is the only cast member to appear in all 256 TV episodes. Alda also took part in writing 19 episodes, and directed 32 episodes.