What category was the hurricane irma?

Hurricane Irma, which struck from August 30, 2017 – September 13, 2017, was a category 5 hurricane when it struck the Leeward Islands and passed along the shores of Puerto Rico and Cuba, then a category 4 when it reached Florida.