What's the difference between wax and parchment paper?

Parchment paper is coated with silicone to give it a nonstick, heat-resistant surface, and wax paper (or waxed paper) is—as the name suggests—coated with a soybean or paraffin wax. Because of this coating, wax paper is not meant for use in the oven.