Why do people eat bugs?

Bugs, like crickets have been seen as a protein supplement to gain nutrition from instead of eating red meat like cows. Bugs are also seen as delicacies in different cultures or just as food to survive on. Sometimes bugs like cheese covered mealworms are sold as gross funny treats as amusement.