What level do you find diamonds at in minecraft?

Diamond can be found anywhere beneath layer 16, but is most common in layers 5-12. Methods for finding the ore generally fall in two categories: either caving or mining. Either way, you will need an iron or diamond pickaxe to mine the diamonds (also any gold, emerald, or redstone they come across).