Why is it called a donut?

The origin of the name of doughnut is up for debate. Some believe it refers to the nuts that were added to the dough to add flavor. Others believe that the name comes from a recipe where by hazelnuts or walnuts were placed in the center of the cake as that part rarely cooked properly.