What's the difference between baking and broiling?

Broiling uses direct heat from an element above that is typically hotter and closer to the food. Baking is done with indirect heat using the element below the food which is further away and at a lower temperature.

---

When baking the heat is applied evenly all around the food. While when broiling the heat is applied to the food from above.