How do i bake soil?

For those who need to remove pathogens from a small amount of soil, baking soil in the oven is an effective technique. So, you can use the oven to sterilize soil. Put some soil in an oven. Bake it at 180 to 200 degrees F. The soil is safe for planting as soon as it cools.

---

Sterilizing Soil with an Oven in an oven-safe container, like a glass or metal baking pan, covered with foil. Place a meat (or candy) thermometer into the center and bake at 180 to 200 degrees F. (82-93 C.) for at least 30 minutes, or when soil temp reaches 180 degrees F.