Is costa rica a u. s. territory?

The Republic of Costa Rica is a sovereign nation. It was part of the Federal Republic of Central America, which gained independence from Spain September 15th, 1821. It became an independent nation in 1938. Costa Rica is a stable democracy and a US ally.