When was king arthur's reign?

King Arthur of Camelot, who according to medieval legend battled Saxon invaders in the early sixth century, may only be a product of Celtic mythology. His exploits may be a combination of the actions of several different Celtic leaders. His reign is placed sometime in the 5th or 6th century.