What are the different parts of a turtle's shell?

While the shell of a turtle can be described by various subparts, the rounded top shell of a turtle is called the carapace. The flat part of the shell underneath the turtle is called the plastron. Markings, size, and color of the carapace and plastron are often used to distinguish different breeds.