How many states do not change to daylight savings time?

The time change occurs across the whole US with the exception of Alaska, Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the Virgin Islands. Two states, Hawaii and Arizona do not make the change because they have their own state laws to keep their hours fixed.