Why is shoofly pie called shoofly pie?

The most logical explanation is related to the fact that during the early years of our country, all baking was done in big outdoor ovens. Pools of sweet, sticky molasses sometimes formed on the surface of the pie while it was cooling. This always attracted flies. Thus “Shoo-Fly!” Pie was named.

---

This pie was invented in large outdoor ovens in Pennsylvania. The pools of sweet, sticky molasses would attract flies which bakers would say, Shoo Fly.