What's the difference between a california king bed and a king size bed?

The main differences are, A Standard King size mattress, or an Eastern king, is 76" wide by 80" long, & is 6,080 square inches. A California or Cal king, or Western king, is 72" wide by 84" long, & is 6,048 square inches. Simply put, A king mattress is 4" wider, but a Cal king is 4" longer.