Who invented the gibson les paul?

Lester William Polsfuss (June 9, 1915 – August 12, 2009), known as Les Paul, was an American jazz, country, blues guitarist, songwriter, luthier, and inventor. He was one of the pioneers of the solid-body electric guitar, his prototype, called the Log, served as inspiration for the Gibson Les Paul