What's the difference between inductive and deductive reasoning?

Inductive reasoning starts with a conclusion and deductive reasoning starts with a premise. Inductive reasoning moves from specific instances into a generalized conclusion, while deductive reasoning moves from generalized principles that are known to be true to a true and specific conclusion.