How do you trim scallions?

WikiHOW says "if looking for classic garnish, slice green ends into thin circles, sprinkle them over food. Thinly slivered scallions to ramen, slice them lengthwise. You can also cut the scallion whites and greens into large pieces and toss them into stir-fries for added crunch."