Where did boston baked beans originate?

The Boston baked beans we enjoy today are a direct descendent from an English bean-and-bacon pottage dish originally from the middle ages. 17th century Puritans favored a dish that they could set to cook on Saturday and consume on Sunday, saving them from labor on the Sabbath.