Where did the term dumb waiter come from?

The term 'dumbwaiter' came to be as the lift was first used in large houses that had their kitchens and household staff in the basements or the 'servants quarters'. ... The origins of the term are simply that this lift was a way of having your own silent waiter, not seen and not heard.