What is known as the devils backbone?

Several areas of the US have been nicknamed "The Devil's Backbone" including a rock formation near Charlestown, Indiana, a mountain in the Catskill Mountains, a state forest in Shenandoah County, Virginia, and a region in Texas Hill Country.