How do you use an enchantment table in minecraft?

To get a full level 30 enchant, the Enchantment Table must be placed in the middle of 15 Bookshelves. Next, you will notice 2 slots on the left side of the interface, the left slot is for your tool, while the right slot is where the Lapis Lazuli goes.