What is gryffindor stand for?

In the Harry Potter series, Gryffindor is one of the four Hogwarts houses. Above all, people belonging to House Gryffindor are said to be courageous and brave. This is inline with the House motto which reads "Their daring, nerve and chivalry set Gryffindors apart".