Where did the expression on the fritz come from?

This phrase is attested from 1902, originally meaning “in a bad way” or “in bad condition”, malfunctioning of an appliance. Perhaps from German name Fritz, or onomatopoeic (here, imitating the sound of electric sparks jumping).