What happened at the capital riots?

In 2016, protestors seething over the election of Donald Trump began rioting and vandalizing small businesses near the capital in Washington DC. Significant damage was sustained to at least 4 shops, multiple vehicles, and 6 police were injured. . 217 arrested, but all charges were dropped.

---

Rioters occupied the empty Senate chamber while federal law enforcement officers defended the evacuated House floor. Pipe bombs were found at each of the Democratic National Committee and Republican National Committee headquarters, and Molotov cocktails were discovered in a vehicle near the Capitol.